Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [Tools of the Trade] - art schools?  (Read 6929 times)

silentleaf

• Fan Calendar Participant
  • Tuftear
    • View Profile
[Tools of the Trade] - art schools?
« on: March 17, 2010, 09:27:16 AM »

Ok so i live in woodland hills ca, and i've decided that i need to get some more training in art. I have an associates degree in graphic design, but i haven't used it much. I'd love the beef up my skills in illustration. any suggestions for schools other than university's in la. i don't think if they will take me lol i have a pretty limited portfolio.. bah. I'd love to end up illustrating book covers and things like that.  any suggestions would be a huge help.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2010, 10:38:20 AM by Foxeye »

Foxeye

• Calendar Judge
  • Tuftear
    • View Profile
    • Jungle Fire
Re: art schools?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2010, 10:37:38 AM »

I can't remember if I mentioned this to you already, but I strongly recommend checking out "The Art Department" that is run by the folks at conceptart.org.

http://www.theartdepartment.org/

Or, if that's a BIT too ambitious, and you want to just start out slowly, check out the streaming classes from the same folks at conceptart.org:

http://www.conceptartstore.com/stcl.html

The "Colours and the Theory of Light" class (which is at a great price right now) is one that I attended when it first happened, and it was SO GOOD. Oh, and "Anatomy for Artists" with Vandruff was !@#!%#@ awesome.  Off course, when I took them they were live, so you could ask questions, but just watching the recorded class will still be invaluable.

I also took a great composition class from them, but I don't see it on that list. ...oh, that's because it got moved to an actual download, rather than streaming:

http://media.massiveblack.com/downloads.html

Look for "Jason Manley's composition". Jason Manley also did the color class I attended.