Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: [Tools of the Trade] - Watercolor (was: Artists Question and Answer)  (Read 26827 times)

mischievous_valkyrie

• Wolf
  • life is what you make of it
    • View Profile

Hello everyone
I thought it would be nice to have a thread where Artist can share their wisdom and help those of us who are still learning.

I'm still learning  so I was wondering if any of you seasoned artists could give me any tips on how to properly anchor watercolor paper to a board or something like that, at the moment I've been using my watercolor pad for this job but it isn't doing it as well as I would like plus I can only work on one or two picture's at a time which is a bit frustraiting since I have alot of paintings to do and I would like to get them done before next Christmas lol
So please any tips you can give me would be deeply apperciated!

Also if anyone has questions for me I would be happy to answer the best that I can.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2010, 08:27:28 AM by Foxeye »
Claim Victory in your heart and the universe will follow

aurianfae

• Zwoot
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantArt page
Re: Artists Question and Answer
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2010, 10:48:00 PM »

As far as I have been told about watercolors, you want to get yourself a nice flat board and some green masking tape and tape the paper to the board. I guess that's supposed to stretch it and keep it flat. Also, on a couple of my watercolors I've tried adding salt to the water, and it seems to help the paper not warp quite so much.

Windrider

• Calendar Judge
  • Tuftear
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2010, 10:55:41 PM »

Alright, since I'm primarily a watercolor artist, I'll answer your question with my opinions - others might have different methods.