Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [Tools of the Trade] - Digital Brushes  (Read 17978 times)

Icebird

• Wolf
  • Toasty
    • View Profile
[Tools of the Trade] - Digital Brushes
« on: October 15, 2009, 12:55:42 PM »

Do you draw with traditional pencils and markers? Or are you more into digital sketching and painting? Or both? Or maybe something entirely different? I know from own experience that sometimes you come across a picture made by different methods than what you're used to/know of and it makes you wonder. So why not learn from each other?  :D

I looked but found no place to exchange tips and tricks, be it for traditional sketching, digital painting, doll making or whatever, so I made this. (If there is such a thread already I apologize and would like a pointer in the right direction ;) )

Now, my own reason for this is that I just collected my new Wacom tablet today. I'm as green as they come, it's my first time using a tablet, aside for a 5 minute try out a year ago, and so I wondered if anyone has any great tips on learning how to use a tablet the best way?

For one I'm wondering about the pressure effect of the pen. I see the genius in the ability to make softer/lighter and harder/darker strokesbut then where does the actual highlights and shadows come into the picture (and how) if we talk digital painting?

Just one of my newbie questions, but no idea in overwhelming the thread already. I hope others will find use of this place too. :D
« Last Edit: February 08, 2010, 08:28:50 AM by Foxeye »

Foxeye

• Calendar Judge
  • Tuftear
    • View Profile
    • Jungle Fire
Re: Tools of the Trade - discussion & help
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2009, 01:56:20 PM »

Now, my own reason for this is that I just collected my new Wacom tablet today.

Congratulations! :D  So all your coloring till now has been mouse-done?  :o